Writer’s Block

Writer’s block is real.

Take this post for example.  I’ve been thinking of starting a blog for awhile, as a way to get my writing out into the world and to practice writing about the real world.  I know, gross.  Trust me, I find writing about imaginary worlds filled with daring sword fights, dragons, and quests much easier than writing about myself, and the world I inhabit.

An easy life is a boring life, right?

So I decided to start a blog.  But by the time I’d gotten through picking a username (nigh on impossible, btw), naming my blog (an equally difficult task), and playing with the layout (other people make it look so easy!), I’d completely forgotten what exactly it was that I wanted to write about.

So I started to write about not knowing what to write.

This happens more often than I would care to admit.  The few letters I’ve written mostly happened when I wanted to write, but had ZERO inspiration for any of the stories I have going.

That’s my secret for beating writer’s block.  If one story or style isn’t working, try another one.  Write from a new perspective.  Write a letter to a friend.  Write a poem.  Play a song.  Draw a picture.  Bake a pie.  Take a hike.  Read a book.  Clean your room.  Do a craft.  Just don’t bang your head against the brick wall that has appeared between you and your story.

Writer’s block is real.  But it doesn’t have to keep you from writing.

2 thoughts on “Writer’s Block

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

