Book Talk

Perhaps the biggest adjustment back to “real life” I’ve had to make is the lack of required reading, and the absence of fellow readers to discuss books.download (7)

Then I remember there’s this thing called the internet, filled with people who also read, and may have even read the same books I have!  Frabjous day!download (11)

So, I suppose I’ll just write my thoughts on some books I’ve read since graduating.  They’re in no particular order, and come from various genres.

The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordandownload (8)

First: NO SPOILERS.  Seriously, I’m not evil.

I just finished this book yesterday.  I then had the immediate urge to pick up The Lightning Thief, the first book Riordan wrote about demigods in the modern world.  It was that good.  I laughed, I cried, I yelled at the book as if its author could hear me, it was great.  Having been recently exposed to truly terrible young adult literature, this book was a nice reminder that good authors still exist.  Even if they DO use an overabundance of cliffhangers that punch their readers right in the feels.

The Elegance of the Hedgehog download (9)by Muriel Barbery

THAT ENDING WAS UNCALLED FOR!!!!!!

No, I can’t be mad at this book.  It explored thought, and philosophy, and social structure.  It showed how the past defines the future, and that destiny is for those without the guts to dream beyond their “place”.  I didn’t always agree with the main characters, but it’s better that way.  You don’t learn what you really think about things by talking to people who always agree with you.

Galway Bay by Mary Pat Kelly

download (10)FAUGH-A-BALLAGH!!!  Clear the way!

While I haven’t technically finished this book, I still need to talk about it.  It’s beautiful.  Of course, this is an opinion from someone who has a crush on all things Ireland, but SERIOUSLY.  If you want a story about family, overcoming adversity, love, laughter, tears, and the hardships that have plagued immigrants, this book is for you. WARNING: you might experience strong anti-England sentiments.  Anglophiles, proceed with caution.

For Whom the Bell Tolls by Ernest Hemingway71-lo5ogq5L._SL1426_

ZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz…what?  Have they blown the bridge up yet?  No?  Okay.  ZZZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

(Apologies to any Hemingway fans.  I’ve enjoyed his short stories, but this novel is death by boredom.  I haven’t reached the end, but I’m pretty sure that the bell tolls for the poor readers who have suffered through all the unprintable and indescribable dialogue.)

This is by no means an exhaustive list, nor are these complete reactions to the novels in question.  But I would like to hear your thoughts!  And if you disagree with me, good!  That’s what reading is all about, isn’t it?

3 thoughts on “Book Talk

Add yours

  1. I miss the discussions over required reading, too! I’ve started getting into the book blogger side of the blogosphere, but most of that centers around YA and I like to read a lot of different genres. But I am currently working my way through the Percy Jackson series for the first time and liking it, though I wish it was written at a higher reading level. Nice to see his other series is good–I haven’t heard much about it.

    Like

    1. It’s very much a continuation of the Percy Jackson books, just with a different focus. I’ve kind of given up on differentiating them!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

