An Unexpected Journey

So, remember that time I said I wouldn’t be travelling for awhile because money?

Forget that.

Turns out, you can go to Europe for cheaper than you can buy a car.

I may also make life changing decisions during the wee hours, when most sane people are tucked snug in their beds.

This is what happens when I drink too much tea, have access to the interwebs, and try to figure out what to do with my life.

I’m still working out the details, but I’m going to Ireland this fall.

And that’s terrifying.

Don’t get me wrong, I love to travel.  I’ve been wanting to get back out into the great wide Somewhere basically since I got back from England two-and-a-half years ago.184754_10150134790492792_720402791_7874974_3328526_n_large

But I’ve never really traveled ALONE.  There’s always someone I’m going to visit in the States, and my entire family lived in Germany.  I went to England with a group of friends, and the college made sure to educate the students on the best ways to travel.

This time, it’ll just be me.

I’ll be working and volunteering on a farm somewhere in the Irish countryside.  This is literally a dream come true for me.

How can life change so quickly for the better?  I’ve had my entire world turned upside down in the space of a thirty second phone call, or the time it takes me to race up the stairs.  This was like coming back into the light when I didn’t even know I was existing in the shadows.download (12)

A week ago, I was stuck in the eternal monotony of work, rejection letters, and the looming need to edit my novel.

Now, the world is full of possibilities, and I’m actually making real progress on my manuscript.images (7)

So, this blog is going to be more about travel here in the next few months than I originally expected.  I’m really excited for this new unexpected phase of my life’s journey, and I hope you keep reading!

One thought on “An Unexpected Journey

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

