Books That Made Me Who I Am Vol. IV

I’m sure you know by now, but in case you missed it, you can read the first three installments of my book list herehere, and even here!

Really, I have a never-ending supply of book recommendations.  These posts are me trying to hit the highlights.  Here are a few I somehow managed to miss the first three times around.

Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine

If you liked the movie, get out.  Get your butt to a bookstore, a library, an online database, or your book nerd friend’s house.  Pick up this book.  And educate yourself.

This is by far my favorite retelling of the Cinderella story.  The world is well-developed, and there is just enough of a twist on the story that you don’t know what’s coming.

Maniac Magee by Jerry Spinelli

Pretty sure everyone would benefit from giving this book a read.  The story centers on a runaway boy, who winds up in a town divided by color.  It’s written so that fourth graders would understand it, yet deals with issues adults can’t seem to wrap their heads around. In fact, I think I’ll go read it right now.

The Mistmantle Chronicles by M. I. McAllister

Again, fourth grade reading level, eternally difficult concepts.  Also, talking animals.  I used to lay awake at night while my overactive imagination ran wild with the vision of a giant crazy talking squirrel coming into my room while I slept.

The Talisman by Sir Walter Scott

A lesser known but equally as interesting novel about the Crusades by everyone’s favorite Scotsman.  Well, one of our favorites.  This book manages to rival Ivanhoe without the added interest of a world famous outlaw.

America and Vietnam: The Elephant and the Tiger by Albert Marrin

I am forever scarred by the works of Albert Marrin.  But if you want an accurate look at global conflicts in the twentieth century without feeling like you’re reading a textbook, Marrin’s your guy.  Strangely, one of the few details from this book that has stuck with me is the usefulness of a spoon when trying to get information from an enemy combatant.

In case you couldn’t already tell, I have pretty varied taste in books.  I’m sure I’ll continue adding to this series as I discover new favorites, or uncover old ones.  If you’ve read any of the books I’ve talked about, let me know what you think!  I’m also open to suggestions for what I should read next.  Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

