Writing Woozles

It’s a bit weird taking an impromptu trip and hearing that people are excited to read the blog posts about it.

On the one hand, it’s really cool.  People read my blog, and seem to enjoy it enough to want more.

On the other hand, is my anxiety.

I try not to listen to my anxiety too much.  I talked about this much more in a previous post, but basically, if I don’t ignore my anxiety and fears, I turn into a panicky blob of caffeine fueled Netflix consumption.

But there’s this stupid little voice inside my head that knows anything I write will disappoint people who are expecting something.

It’s hard to shut out that voice.  That voice is a big reason I tend to write posts in one fell swoop and publish them with minimal editing.  The longer I stare at my own writing, the worse it looks.  And not in a “I can say that better, use this word instead” kind of way; more like “I shouldn’t ever let this see the light of day”.

It’s easier to ignore the voice when I’ve already done the writing.  It’s a whole different ball game when that voice starts muttering while I’m staring at a blank page.

So yes, there will be at least one entertaining post about this trip.  In fact, I wrote this one sitting in the airport between flights.  I’m storing up stories every day.

I guess I just felt the need to address the anxiety that comes with everything I write.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

