Reasons I Fail As a Blogger

I’m fairly certain I’m not doing this whole “blogging” thing right.

I can’t stick to a topic, I mess with the name without considering the ramifications, and can’t figure out how I made some things happen, because they happened on accident while I was clicking EVERYTHING.


Here are a few of the reasons I’m pretty sure I’m not doing this right.

  • I stink at documenting things.

I’m usually halfway through an experience before I realize pictures and videos would probably be a good idea.  And even then I usually only take a couple pictures before I give up or get distracted.

Examples include, but are not limited to, this single picture I took while on my aunt and uncle’s farm.

I don’t own a decent camera.  Not even the camera on my phone works right all the time.   It’s amazing my few vlogs even exist.

  • I tend to censor myself on social media.

As in, most of the things other people put on twitter and tumblr end up in text messages to my closest friends.  I’ve gotten better about this (mostly just on twitter), but most unfiltered thoughts are still reserved for texts.

  • I neglect my blog.

To be fair, I also neglect every other writing project I’ve ever started.  The true test is whether I ever get back to it.

Sometimes I go for days, even weeks without writing.  I hate going for long stretches of time without writing.  It’s like my brain is going on strike, but also threatening to explode, which makes me seem crazier than normal.  That’s usually when my rantier writing posts happen.  Well, then, and when I’m losing my mind editing and rewriting.

  • I don’t keep myself well informed about almost everything.

I lose track of how old myself and my siblings are, but I’m supposed to know what political decision got made three hours ago that will definitely maybe affect my life a year from now when it actually gets implemented?

I have instances of wanting to be informed, usually spurred on by the fact that all the internet is talking about is some super trivial thing and what are they trying to hide?????? (basically, the procrastination monkey and panic monster aren’t alone in my head.  They have a friend, the conspiracy badger.  Maybe we’ll learn more about him later.)

wp-1493962766913
There’s a reason this has become my favorite mug.

This doesn’t just apply to politics.  The only reason I know anything about any sports is because half of my family cares about sports.  Instead of reading news, or celebrity gossip, I find myself researching etymologies of slang words or going on epic google quests to discover the name of a side character in an obscure children’s book I haven’t read in over a decade.  Or reading scientific articles, hoping Pluto has been restored to it’s rightful place in our solar system.

  • The most interesting part of most of my days is my Youtube watch history.

And then only on the days I learn random science/history things or discover a new subculture.

  • I struggle to come up with intelligent reviews of books I read.

Somehow, I didn’t have this problem in university.  I wrote excellent papers about books.  I learned things about the authors, and discovered subcultures I’d like to join.  I could discuss the purpose of the story, the symbolism behind that specific plant growing in that character’s garden, and speculate about various interpretations of words and actions.

I seem to have since lost this ability.

No, that’s not quite right.

I can still write about books.

I just abhor spoilers.  I don’t want to write details about a books plot if I want my audience to experience the book fresh, like I did.

Or maybe I haven’t been reading many books that make me think enough to want to write about them.

 

So, there you have it.  I’m sure there are other reasons I don’t quite fit the role of blogger, but that’s my entire life.  I don’t quite fit anywhere.

20151019_141459
Especially through doorways in 400+ year old European buildings…

But we don’t need to fit to belong.

1496314_10202810409884200_1564610466_o

One thought on “Reasons I Fail As a Blogger

Add yours

  1. I think blogging the “right” way leads to piles and piles of blogs that are faceless and insincere. Some people can put out content they want and still get the views they want, but I’m starting to figure out that it’s often one or the other. I’ve been blogging for over 6 years now and have very little to show for it in terms of audience. I’m terrible at keeping a schedule, engaging in the community, etc. But I put out the content that I would want to read and I have fun doing it, and I think that’s what really matters.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

